The Bookish Blog

The Bookish Blog at Miss Bohemia! This is where you can find out about the latest literary gifts and accessories from Miss Bohemia, latest bookish news including new releases, giveaways and more! Sign up to our RSS feed to follow this blog!

 RSS Feed

  1. A Year of Chasing Love by Rosie Chambers Blog Tour & Review

    cover177323-medium

    Today I’m taking part in the blog tour for book tour for ‘A Year of Chasing Love’ by Rosie Chambers (published 6th January 2020!

    A Year of Chasing Love is described as a ‘delightfully uplifting holiday read for 2020’!

    Book blurb

    One moment can change a lifetime…

    The last thing top divorce lawyer Olivia Hamilton ever expected was to be served her own divorce papers! To escape her marriage troubles, she agrees to go on a year-long trip to find the ultimate guide to love.

    Travelling the world, surrounded by stories of love and happiness, it’s not long before her thoughts turn to Nathan, her soon-to-be ex-husband, and she starts to take note of her own lessons in love…

    But with Nathan over a thousand miles away, will it be too late?

    Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Philippa Ashley and Caroline Roberts.

    My review

    A Year of Chasing Love is an endearing story about romance, travel and taking chances!

    The story kicks off with our main protagonist and top divorce lawyer Olivia being served with her own divorce papers at her workplace!  Although Olivia was aware that there were problems in her marriage (mostly down to being so focused on her career that she never finds the time to actually spend time with her husband Nathan), she nevertheless devastated by this news!

    Overworked and stressed out, she’s ‘persuaded’ to take a 10-month sabbatical, and through her friend Rachel, Olivia finds herself on a ‘research’ trip visiting countries where divorce rates are lower and marriages have a higher success rate. Her journey begins with Malta and ends in Paris (also known as the City of love)!  At first this seems like a great way to escape her marriage blues but through doing research while writing a guide on lessons in love and what makes a marriage last, Olivia’s true journey is the self-reflection that allows her to discover herself, examine her relationships with others and what really matters to her!  That said, while Oliva was a strong-minded and a high achieving career woman, her self-doubts and self-criticisms were aplenty.

    Olivia is faced with a choice of trying to save her marriage or moving on and while I won’t spoil the ending, I will say that A Year of Chasing Love is a funny and interesting story about love and relationships. That and the gorgeous locations make it a great escape read debut novel from Rosie Chambers!

    Thank you NetGalley and HQ Digital for this ARC in exchange for an honest review.

    3.5-Stars

    Thank you to HQStories for the ARC of A Year of Chasing Love. Thank you to everyone who has stopped by – I hope you have enjoyed my review.  Please check out the rest of this blog tour for more thoughts and reviews about this book!

    A Year of Chasing Love Blog Tour Banner

    About the Author

    Rosie Chambers loves writing uplifting, feel-good stories set in sun-filled locations around the world. Her stories are filled with fun, friendship and foodie treats, which Rosie hopes will bring a smile to her readers' faces.

    She's always in the market for quirky stationery and is never happier than with a pen in one hand and a cup of tea and a chocolate biscuit in the other. A YEAR OF CHASING LOVE is her debut novel.

    You can find Rosie Chambers on
    Twitter @ https://twitter.com/RosieCbooks

    More information and where to buy

    Title: A Year of Chasing Love Author: Rosie Chambers
    Publisher: HQ Stories
    Published:  Ebook available January 6th 2020  Paperback available March 19th 2020

    Amazon

    Waterstones

     

  2. Wishes Under a Starlit Sky by Lucy Knott – Blog Tour & Review

    x400

    Hey bookworms, today I’m excited to be part of the book tour for this wonderful festive read by Lucy Knott!

    Book blurb

    When life doesn’t go to plan, you can write yourself a new story…

    From the outside, Harper Hayes looks like she is winning at life.

    She has an amazing job as a script writer, a wonderful house, an awesome best friend and an incredible husband.

    Yes, life seems to be pretty, dare she say it? Perfect?

    But life is about to throw more than one spanner in the works of Harper’s picture perfect existence and at the busiest time of the year too…

    As Christmas approaches, Harper will have some soul searching to do to decide if there really is such thing as the happily-ever-after she writes about.

    My review

    Wishes Under a Starlit Sky is a gorgeously festive and inspiring read.  It’s a story about love, wonderful friendships and following your dreams!

    The story doesn’t start off well for our protagonist Harper – in fact it begins with her husband walking out on their 6-year long marriage just before Christmas.  Devastated by this bombshell, we follow Harper over the period of the next few years that follow, as she tries to move on and get her life back together.  The book is set between London (her base) and Colorado, and really begins when Harper and her wonderful best friend Madi take a trip to the latter, to visit her parents during Christmas time. 

    We watch as she experiences both the highs and lows and is helped along the way by her loving parents, her best friend and people she meets along the way, and  eventually herself.  Their trip to Colorado provides a beautiful snowy backdrop to the festive activities taking place at the time and this book just oozes with cosiness wrapped up in a warm blanket of magic!  Think falling snow, hot chocolate, pancakes, warm syrup, tempting vegan food and you’ll get the idea!

    This book wasn’t your typical romance (although it is romantic), it focused more on the importance of friendship and how people can appear just at the right moment in your life!  People that you just know will become lifelong friends who make you smile, laugh and sometimes cry, but will always be there when you need them with a hug and maybe a hot toddy or Bailey’s infused hot chocolate!  There are some amazing characters in this book (special shout out to her best friend Madi, her parents, Dean, Erin and Hayley) and there is of course, some romance towards the end of the book, but it’s the changes within Harper that makes this a special read! We follow her journey of self-belief and see her build up enough courage face her fears and follow her heart to a journey filled with happiness! 

    4-stars

    Thank you NetGalley and HQ Digital for the ARC of Wishes Under A Starlit Sky in exchange for an honest review.

    Thank you also to HQStories and everyone who has stopped by – I hope you enjoyed my review.  Please check out the rest of this blog tour for more thoughts and reviews about this book!

    Wishes Under A Starlit Sky Blog Tour Banner

    About the Author

    61Bvx4qURXL._SY200_

    Lucy Knott is a former professional wrestler with a passion for storytelling. Now, instead of telling her stories in the ring, she’s putting pen to paper, fulfilling another lifelong dream in becoming an Author.

    Inspired by her Italian Grandparents, when she is not writing you will most likely find her cooking, baking and devouring Italian food, in addition to learning Italian and daydreaming of trips to Italy.

    Along with her twin sister, Kelly, Lucy runs TheBlossomTwins.com, where she enthusiastically shares her love for books, baking and Italy, with daily posts, reviews and recipes.

    You can find Lucy on
    Twitter @TheBlossomTwins or @LucyCKnott
    Instagram @LucyCKnott
    Website: www.theblossomtwins.com

    Where to buy

    Amazon

    Waterstones 

    Foyles

     

  3. Our bookish sale has now started - get 15% off all bookish products!

    Hey bookworms, have you stopped by and enjoyed our generous 15% off bookish products yet? The sale will end on Sunday 30th June 2019 and you won't want to miss it - because this is our biggest sale until the end of the year!

    The Great Gatsby
    We have also just launched 'The Great Gatsby Collection' on our website and as expected we have some really beautiful quotes on shiny gold accessories which includes bookmarks and coasters!

    “I love her, and that's the beginning and end of everything.” ~ F. Scott Fitzgerald.

    The Great Gatsby / F. Scott Fitzgerald range is now live with a beautiful choice of gold metal bookmarks and coasters featuring some of the best bookish quotes. Each piece is made from silver coloured aluminium and the front side has been given a deep golden shiny metal finish on which the sleek black text and design appears.  View the full collection here!


    The Great Gatsby Quotes


    'There are all kinds of love in this world, but never the same love twice.'

    'I was within and without, simultaneously enchanted and repelled by the inexhaustible variety of life.'

    “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

    F. Scott Fitzgerald Quote

    “I love her, and that's the beginning and end of everything.”

    Click any of the images below to view each design!

    Pride & Prejudice Peacock bookmark and coaster 

    We'll end this newsletter with this beautiful gold coloured Pride & Prejudice bookmark and coaster, which takes inspiration from Hugh Thomson's most famously beautiful 1894 Peacock Edition! 

    Both feature the gold peacock and book title along with author Jane Austen and illustrator Hugh Thomson as featured on the original book.  Part of Mr Darcy's proposal has been added in quote form in a Jane Austen styled handwriting font!

    You have the option of having a golden tassel or a burgundy/wine coloured tassel for your bookmark to finish off this piece.

    As always - thanks for stopping by...

    Miss Bohemia

    *All featured products are available from www.missbohemia.com

  4. Happy World Book Day

    Chiltern Editions

    “A book is a dream that you hold in your hand.” ~ Neil Gaiman

    I couldn't let the best day of year pass without celebrating it on my blog, for what would we do without books!

    IMG_20190423_165535_1

    To celebrate our wonderful love of books I've featured my beautiful literary classic editions by Chiltern Publishing.

    1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
    2. Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
    3. Jane Eyre by Charlottle Brontë
    4. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

    These editions are simply stunning and amongst the most beautiful editions ever! Featuring gold and silver foils woven within floral and art deco designs along with gold/silver edged pages that shimmer in the light!

    IMG_20190423_182957

    If you'd like to know where to buy them, stop by here for more details. 

    Happy World Book Day Bookworms!  What's your favourite thing about books?

    Thanks for stopping by...

    Miss Bohemia